Posts com Tag ‘divine wings of tragedy’

Friday and the RioMetal Team goes to SP to check out this prog-metal icon concert: SX in São Paulo.
The band performed in Carioca Club, a very famous house in the city that has been shown an excelent oprion to heavy metal concerts for it´s great structure. As we expected, tha place was crowded. Leaving local rivalries behind, it´s impressing how the public is almost always fulling the venues in São Paulo for these kind of events.
Accurately at 8 p.m., exact time that the show was scheduled, the band comes out to the stage.
Since 2011, this is the third time the band comes to Brasil, and, this time they come with a little change on the line up: Russell Allen (Vocal), Michael Romeo (Guitar), Michael Pinnella (Keyboard) and Michael LePond (Bass) and the drummer John Macaluso temporarily replacing Jason Rullo (in the hospital for cardiac issues).
SX brought a setlist focused on their latest release, “Iconoclast” (2011), and the title track was the one that opened the show followed by other two new songs:  “The End of Innocence” and “Dehumanized”.
Merging new songs with older ones the presentantion goes on with “Sea of Lies” from “The Divine Wings Of Tragedy” (1996) and “Evolution (The Grand Design)” from “V: The New Mythology Suite” (2000).
We judge unnecessary to mention the musicions quality as it’s largely known . The crowd was singing all the songs, showing all their love and devotion to the band.
After “Children Of a Faceless God”, also from “Iconoclast” the most emotional moment of the night came after Russel Allen chats with the fans and, with Michael Pinnella, plays “When All Is Lost” also from the new album. Then, they came with “Inferno (Unleash The Fire)” from “The Odyssey” (2002).
Leaving the emocional moments behind, the band attacks with the classic “Smoke and Mirrors” from “Twilight In Olympus” (1998) that made the fans sing along, not only the lyrics, but also the guitar solo. Followed by  another classic “Of Sins And Shadows” from the same album, closing the regular set.
We feel fair to comment that John Macaluso is a great drummer, playing perfectly and filling the gap left by Jason Rullo. In our opinion, he was the perfect choice for the band.
But we sitll had encore, and the band left the heaviest sounds to the end! Three songs from the haviest band’s release: “Paradise Lost” (2007). With “Eve Of Seduction”, “Serpent’s Kiss” and “Set the World on Fire (The Lie of Lies)” the crowd went crazy!
A great concert from a perfect band on stage that could greatly measure new songs and old classics on the same set list. At the end, we came back to Rio with big smiles on our faces and praying for Jason Rullo´s soon recovery.
01. Iconoclast
02. The End of Innocence
03. Dehumanized
04. Sea of Lies
05. Evolution (The Grand Design)
06. Children of a Faceless God
07. When All Is Lost
08. Inferno (Unleash the Fire)
09. Smoke and Mirrors
10. Of Sins and Shadows
11. Eve of Seduction
12. Serpent’s Kiss
13. Set the World on Fire (The Lie of Lies)