Noumena: September release, “Anima”

Publicado: 13/08/2020 por Pedro Mello em News

Finnish melodeathers Noumena will release their new album “Anima” on the 4th of September 2020. Rarely there is a better soundtrack at hand for the approaching autumn than this album, lingering amid heavy, dark and slow waters.

The upcoming album presents the darkest and the most melancholic Noumena so far. Band’s unique style to weave wistful melodies is present once again. The songs offer glimpses of Finnish folk music and old schlager fortified with merciless and heavy base. The distinctive feature of “Anima” is melancholy and serenity.

Markus Hirvonen, who joined the band in 2018, strengthens Noumena’s musical expression with his guitar playing, singing and composition skills. Besides guitarist Ville Lamminaho, the main songwriter, every member in Noumena has contributed to music or lyrics on the album.

Thematically the album approaches death and loss from various viewpoints. Anima is a manifestation of spirit, soul and vitality, which takes a form of a soul bird in Finnish folklore. It is an ethereal spirit animal, who brings soul in birth and takes it away in death. As “Saatto” song puts it: eventually everyone joins the symphony of souls and leaves only echoes in this world. The upcoming album trusts in Finnish lyrics like its predecessor.

Anima is a joint creative endeavor of artists from Noumena’s hometown, Ähtäri. Besides songs, cover artwork, promo pictures and music video of “Saatto” are crafted by Ähtäri-bred professionals.

Noumena is a melodic death metal band founded in 1998, Ähtäri, Finland. The band has released five full-length albums so far and performed live in several countries. After the latest album “Myrrys” band has toured e.g. in Japan and China.

Noumena are:

Antti Haapanen – growls

Suvi Uura – vocals

Markus Hirvonen – guitars, vocals

Ville Lamminaho – guitars, mandolin, vocals

Tuukka Tuomela – guitars

Hannu Savolainen – bass

Ilkka Unnbom – drums

Noumena’s discography:

Pride/Fall 2002

Absence 2005

Anatomy of Life 2006

Death Walks With Me 2013

Myrrys 2017

Anima 2020

Anima is released by indie record label Haunted Zoo Productions, owned by Noumena.

Link to lyric video of Saatto:

Inverse Records

Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Google

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Google. Sair /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s